Welcome to Glenstal Abbey School, a seven day full-boarding school for boys. The school is owned and run by the Benedictine monks of Glenstal Abbey. The abbey is situated in Murrow, County Limerick in the heart of Munster
The origins of the current school lie in the small School for Arts and Crafts opened by the founding monks of Glenstal in 1928. A secondary school for boys was opened in September 1932. Fr Columba Skerret OSB was the Headmaster, and there were just seven boys on the roll.
However, the real founding father of the school was Fr Matthew Dillon OSB, who served as Headmaster twice – from 1937-1948 and from 1953 to 1961. During his first term of office he increased the number of boys from less than twenty to over one hundred.
From these humble beginnings the school has grown considerably. As the school has grown, it has spread beyond the confines of the original Barrington castle. Modern dormitories and refectories, a large Sports Hall and state-of-the art computing facilities combine to ensure that the school remains a vibrant and forward-looking educational institution
Small Class Sizes
Total number of students
Students that play an instrument